How to eat like a canuck this Canada Day long weekend: Part I of III

Happy Canada Day weekend everyone!

In honour of our true north strong and free, I’ve compiled a list of fun food facts about Canada and how our food differs from that of the United States. I had originally intended for this to be one post, but I just kept writing and writing.

Some of these tidbits suprised me quite a bit (Americans don’t have Smarties?!), while others were pretty obvious (hello, poutine).

The first part of this three-part series begins with snack foods: potato chips, chocolate bars and desserts. If anything on this list is inaccurate, or if I left something out, please leave a comment and let me know.

Potato chips

Three of our major staple flavours–ketchup, dill pickle and all dressed–are not available in the U.S. I can’t imagine what my childhood would have been like without Hostess ketchup chips!

ketchup chips

We have some other somewhat unconventional chip flavours that I’m willing to bet aren’t in the states either: Lay’s fries and gravy (in other words, poutine), roast chicken, and cheddar and sour cream. Lay’s also made curry chips for a little while but I haven’t seen them in stores in a couple of years. They were quite good.

Chocolate Bars

I found out just last weekend while chatting at a wedding that Smarties aren’t sold in the U.S. In fact, my American dining guest didn’t even know what they were! The best description I could provide was, “They’re kind of like M&Ms.” But not quite.

To the best of my knowledge, the following chocolate bars aren’t available in the states either:

  • Glossettes – raisins or peanuts covered in a soft, shiny chocolate coating
  • Cherry blossom – an individually-wrapped chocolate-covered maraschino cherry; it’s a retro favourite according to my parents
  • Coffee Crisp – a coffee-flavoured bar made of thin wafers and cream covered in a milk chocolate coating
  • Crunchie (I think!) – sponge toffee covered in milk chocolate
  • Eat-More – a chewy, pliable dark bar made from toffee, peanuts and chocolate
  • Aero – milk chocolate bar filled with tiny air pockets – taste the bubbles!
  • Caramilk – milk chocolate bar with caramel-filled squares
  • Jersey Milk – pure milk or dark chocolate bar divided into squares
  • Mr. Big – a large, long bar made from wafers, caramel, peanuts and crunchy rice pieces covered in milk chocolate
  • Crispy Crunch – a crispy peanut bar with a milk chocolate coating

Desserts

From what I’ve read, these sweet Canadian treats are hard to come by in the U.S.:

  • Butter tarts
  • Le tire (hot maple syrup poured over clean snow to make a sort of taffy)
  • Nanaimo bars
  • Maple sugar pie
  • Date squares
  • Beaver tails (fried ovals of sweet dough dusted with sugar)
  • Laura Secord chocolate and candy shop
  • Be sure to stop by for parts II and III this weekend! In the meantime I want to know: what’s your favorite Canadian food?

3 thoughts on “How to eat like a canuck this Canada Day long weekend: Part I of III

  1. Pingback: How to eat like a canuck this Canada Day long weekend, Part II of III « The best thing I ever ate…and then some

  2. Pingback: Announcing the Canadian Food Experience Project {developed by Valerie at acanadianfoodie.com} | The best thing I ever ate...and then some

  3. Pingback: Grilled corn, black bean & avocado salad recipe | The best thing I ever ate...and then some

Leave a Reply

