Peanut butter squares

I knew I hadn’t posted in a little while, but when I peeked at the calendar this morning it appears that I haven’t posted in a whole month. Terrible! I have some pretty good excuses, though. Hear me out:

I prefer to cook and blog on the weekends rather than during the week. There’s ample time to catch natural light for photos (impossible in the evenings for most of the year in Canada), and, well, working a full-time job kind of takes up most of my waking weekday hours. But these past few weekends have been filled with wedding planning, meeting up with vendors and visiting my parents rather than cooking.

The other reason is that I’ve been travelling a lot for work. One week this month was spent at a trade show in NYC, where I spent the majority of my time manning our booth and resting at the hotel. No pizza, hot dogs or “celebrity chef” restaurants to be had. Next week I’ll be making the trek to Kelowna, BC for another conference and trade show but I doubt any decent food tourism with come of that. (I’ll bring my camera just in case!)

no bake peanut butter squares

Now that I have a few minutes this weekend to catch up, I thought I’d share one of my absolute favourite desserts. It’s the easiest possible recipe and doesn’t even require baking. Give it a try if you’re in the mood for Reese peanut butter cups this long weekend :)

Peanut butter squares
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 2 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 1/3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
Directions:

Mix the first 4 ingredients in a large bowl and press into a large baking dish, flattening with the back of a spoon. Melt chocolate chips in the microwave in short intervals, stirring in between. Pour over the peanut butter mixture and smooth out with a spatula. Cool and cut into squares before chocolate fully hardens.

9 thoughts on “Peanut butter squares

    1. Jennifer Molnar Post author

      Hi Rita,

      Thanks for the comment – I used a 9 x 13-inch pan, but the good thing about this dish is that it requires no baking at all. You just refrigerate until the mixture is set. You could theoretically use a pan of any size, but it will alter the thickness of the peanut butter and chocolate layers.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Cantaloupe and prosciutto salad recipe | The best thing I ever ate...and then some

  2. Pingback: Zucchini muffins recipe {an easy way to use up zucchini} | The best thing I ever ate...and then some

  3. Pingback: Pizzelle {Italian waffle cookies} | The best thing I ever ate...and then some

  4. Molly

    I’m going to make these for my kids right now! It’ll be a welcome treat when they get home from school.
    Thank you so much for sharing. I like your blog a lot. Tons of fab recipes I’ve been reading and copying down all morning.

    Reply
    1. Jennifer Andrews Post author

      Thanks so much Molly for the kind words and comments on my posts :) I’m glad you’re making these peanut butter squares because they are the absolute BEST dessert (and it takes a lot to wow me in the sweet department)! The fact that they’re no-bake makes it even better. I hope you and your kids enjoy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

